Within the Liceu chamber music project

The LiceuBrass ensemble was created by the brass section of the Orchestra of the Gran Teatre del Liceu with unconditional support from the Liceu's Music Director, Josep Pons. It is committed to attaining the highest standards of excellence.  

The members of the ensemble have worked tirelessly to prepare this concert, perfecting their virtuoso skills and analysing the attractive but demanding programme.  

On this occasion they will be led and conducted by the prestigious trumpet soloist Matthias Höfs, who belongs to the German Brass Ensemble. 

  • Approximate running time 1h 10m

July 2021


Information of Interest


J. S. Bach
Concerto in D major BWV 972 after A. Vivaldi (arr. Matthias Höfs) 
Orchestral suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067 – Rondeau (arr. Matthias Höfs) 
Orchestral suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068 – Air / Gigue (arr. Matthias Höfs) 
Prelude and fugue No. 4, BWV 848 (arr. Peter Lawrence) 
Brandenburg Concerto No. 3, BWV 1048 (arr. Matthias Höfs)                

G. Verdi
Overture to La Forza del destino (arr. Matthias Höfs)                

P. I. Tchaikovsky
"Café" from the ballet “The Nutcracker” (arr. Matthias Höfs) 

R. Wagner
"Spinnerlied" from Act 2 of the opera Der fliegende Holländer (arr. Matthias Höfs) 

M. Legrand
How do you keep the music playing? (arr. P. Lawrence) 

J. Morton
Black Bottom Stomp (arr. Mathias Höfs)